Club Awards

South Whidbey Yacht Club Awards


Founders Award 2022

Congratulations Perry Lovelace!


The South Whidbey Yacht Club Founders Award was established by the Board of Directors with the intention of honoring Club members who strive to fulfill the Vision & Mission of the SWYC community, as directed by the Club Bylaws.

Criteria for the Award:
All members of the SWYC are eligible for the Founders Award. The recipient will be determined by the Founders Award Committee, based solely on nominations from members in good standing. Candidates must have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the core values of the Club and must have consistently excelled in furthering the Founders’ goals of education, community outreach and conviviality.

Candidates for the Award will be sought and considered annually. Members are asked to read the Vision & Mission statements and consider their choices carefully. If a Club member meets the Award criteria, please submit your nomination to the Chairman of the Founders Award Committee by email (see below), outlining your reasons for proposing a particular candidate. Sponsors must be willing to meet with the Award Committee and speak in support of their recommendations if so requested by the Committee. The Committee will consider all nominations and make a unanimous decision, which will remain confidential to the Committee. The name of the recipient will be announced at the Commodore’s Ball in November. Past recipients are eligible for the Award after a period of three years.

Past Award Recipients:

2022 – Perry Lovelace

2021 – Katy Shaner
2020 – Deb Richardson 
2019 – Kathy Rodgers
2018 – Lisa Irwin
2017 – Michael Scott
2016 – Pat Sasson
2015 – Bob Boehm
2014 – Russ Ernest
2013 – Don McArthur
2012 – Tom Stinson
2011 – Derek Pritchard
2010- Bob Rodgers
2009 – Emily McArthur
2008 – Ed Halloran
2007 – Bill Brown


Don McArthur Award 2022

Congratulations Bob Shepard!


The South Whidbey Yacht Club Don McArthur Award was initiated in 2015 by key members of the SWYC Youth Sailing Association Committee that were involved in running the Youth Sailing program in 2015. The intent of the award is to recognize an individual who made a significant contribution to the Youth Sailing Program.

The Trophy awarded to the individual nominated by the Committee is a trophy won by Don McArthur as a very young sailor in the Boston area youth sailing programs. The winners of each vessel class (Turnabout to Thunderbird and all classes in between) sailing in the summer sailing regattas from each of the south bay yacht clubs were eligible to race in the summer’s end regatta. The sailor with the best record at the end of the regatta, regardless of vessel class, was awarded the “Finley Cup”. Don won the award in his Turnabout named “Hoot Mon”. Turnabouts were similar in size to an El Toro, without the blunt ends, and were sailed by two. “Hoot Mon” was Don’s own boat which his grandfather bought for him when he was 7. We believe he won this cup in 1951 when he was 12.

Don was a founding member of SWYC, and one of three “founders” of the
Learn to Sail Program. Don, along with Bob Rodgers and Bill Brown spent two years (2008-09) organizing the sailing program, finding and restoring El Toros, etc., with 2010 being the first year of sailing classes. Don kept them organized and was often the first one to show up each day to set up the canopies, and other equipment to get classes started. Don often ran a safety boat for classes and cleaned up at the end of each day. He was loved by all of the students and much appreciated by the sailing instructors. Don also loaned his Pelican for adult sailing classes.

Nominees will be nominated by the Management Committee of the Youth Sailing Association. Nominees will be selected based on their significant contribution to the youth sailing program for that year. Nominations may be submitted to the Founders Award Committee in October, who will review the nominations and select a winner.

The winner is announced at the annual Commodore’s Ball by the Chair of the Founders Award Committee. The winner shall hold the trophy for one year, and then turn it in prior to the subsequent Commodore’s Ball. 

Past Award Recipients:

2022 – Bob Shepard

2021 – Team Bismark
2019 – Satya Fawcett
2018 – Bill Brown
2017 – Lisa Irwin
2016 – Michael Scott
2015 – Michael Hauser